

March 25, 2022

PRESS RELEASE

GOLDWATER SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS

TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS

MRS. PEGGY GOLDWATER CLAY CHAIR

HON MIGUEL CARDONA
(EX OFFICIO)
HON. DENNIS DECONCINI
DR. STEWART DESOTO
DR. JOSEPH M. GREEN
CHARLES R. KORSMO, ESQ.
HON. JOHN B. LARSON
MS. MARIA E. RENGIFO-RUESS
HON. KRYSTEN SINEMA
DR. JOHN H. YOPP

DR. JOHN F. MATEJA
PRESIDENT

Ms. Anne Marie Kanakkanatt Administrative Officer

CHARLES A. BLANCHARD, ESQ. GENERAL COUNSEL

DR. W. FRANKLIN GILMORE COL GERALD J. SMITH EMERITUS PRESIDENTS As the result of an ongoing partnership with the Department of Defense National Defense Education Programs (NDEP), Mrs. Peggy Goldwater Clay, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, announced that the Trustees of the Goldwater Board has again been able to increase the number of Goldwater scholarships it is awarding for the 2022-2023 academic year to 417 college students from across the United States. "The Department of Defense's continued partnership with the Goldwater Foundation ensures we are supporting the development of scientific talent essential to maintaining our Nation's competitive advantage," said Dr. Jagadeesh Pamulapati, Acting Deputy Director of Research, Technology and Laboratories, who oversees the NDEP program, as he explained the partnership. With the 2022 awards, this brings the number of scholarships awarded since 1989 by the Goldwater Foundation to 9870.

From an estimated pool of over 5,000 college sophomores and juniors, 1242 natural science, engineering and mathematics students were nominated by 433 academic institutions to compete for the 2022 Goldwater scholarships. Of students who reported, 175 of the Scholars are men, 234 are women, and virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. as their highest degree objective. Forty-five Scholars are mathematics and computer science majors, 308 are majoring in the natural sciences, and 64 are majoring in engineering. Many of the Scholars have published their research in leading professional journals and have presented their work at professional society conferences.

Goldwater Scholars have gone on to win an impressive array of prestigious post-graduate fellowships, among which are the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, Rhodes Scholarship, Marshall Scholarship, Churchill Scholarship, Hertz Fellowship, DOE Computation Science Graduate Fellowship, and the National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law 99-661 on November 14, 1986. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue research careers in the fields of the natural sciences, engineering, and mathematics. The Goldwater Scholarship is the preeminent undergraduate award of its type in these fields.

For further information, contact Anne Marie Kanakkanatt at (703) 756-6012 goldwaterao@goldwaterscholarship.gov.